S 200 13overviewE44 143
Forthcoming steam weekends:
12-13 October 2019 01-03 May 2020 04-05 July 2020 10-11 October 2020
Opening hours at other times:
from 06 April 2019 to 19 October 2019 every saturday from 10 am to 5 pm.
Further information is available here.
Forthcoming steam weekends are available here.

small diesel locomotive V 22 B

Builder:VEB Lokomotivbau Karl Marx Babelsberg
Constructed:1976
Power output:220 PS
State:In working order

Since July 2014 the collection of the Historische Lokschuppen Wittenberge has been enriched by two locomotives of type V 22 B. The two machines came to us from the Zellstoff Stendal GmbH in Arneburg.

The V 22 B was developed by the VEB Lokomotivbau "Karl Marx" (LKM) Babelsberg for light shunting operations in stations and for use on industrial systems and private siding connections. The prototype of the V 22 type was delivered in 1967 and series production started shortly afterwards.

In 1968, the German State Railway took over 80 of the machines, designating them class V 23 (from 01.06.1970: class 102.0) in their motive power stock list. Four of them were allocated to Bw Wittenberge, from where they worked over the lines of the Perleberger Kreisringbahn and elsewhere. Many machines of this type were delivered to industrial concerns in the GDR. These rod-driven diesel locos were also a great success in the export market, winning customers in such countries as Egypt, Bulgaria, Romania and Hungary. To further extend the field of operation or these small machines, a multiple control system was developed in 1968, with which our two locos are also equipped. This system allowed two locos to be controlled from one driving cab, but not many locos were fitted with this technology.

Due to the enormous demand for them, construction of the V 22 B continued long after the official discontinuation of locomotve production in Babelsberg in spring 1970. Not until 1976 did loco construction cease with the V 22 B. Some 670 of the 220 HP rod-driven diesel locos had been produced in the Babelsberg erecting shops. The two new members of the museum collection were two of the last locomotive built by the former LKM.

When hew, the locos were delivered to the VEB Kraftwerksanlagenbau Dresden to work in the planned nuclear power generating plant in Niedergörne, where they were given the numbers 1 (works number 0262.6.660; handed over on 31.05.1976) and 3 (worls number 0262.6.664; handed over on 08.06.1976). When work on the nuclear power station was abandoned in 1990, they stayed in Arneburg, where they were later taken over by the Zellstoff Stendal GmbH (ZSG) as loco 2 (ex No. 1) and 3. The ZSG used to operate the machines in multiple, and they were the last machines of their type in such service. They reliably hauled freight trains from Niedergörne station to the factory. The duo were only taken out of service after the purchase of modern Vossloh type G 6 machines, but the two V 22 Bs were still retained as reserve power until expiry of their licences at the end of 2013. The photo shows both locomotives in July 2014, along with their factory-fresh replacements.

The locos are still both largely in their "as delivered" condition. They fit into the collection very well, as they represent a class of diesel locos both familiar at Wittenberge depot and typical for the region. They are also a vivid reminder of locomotive construction in the state of Brandenburg.



image of the month


Dampflokfreunde Salzwedel e.V. Am Bahnhof 6, 19322 Wittenberge

Site NoticeMapInternal

privacy statement

Unsere aktuellen Termine:
05./06.05.2018, 07./08.07.2018, 25./26.08.2018, 13./14.10.2018
Öffnungszeiten außerhalb der Veranstaltungen:
vom 15.04.2017 bis 21.10.2017 jeweils samstags von 10:00-17:00 Uhr.
Weitere Informationen gibt es hier.

Kleindiesellokomotive V 22 B

Hersteller:VEB Lokomotivbau Karl Marx Babelsberg
Baujahr:1976
Leistung:220 PS
Status:funktionsfähig

Seit Juli 2014 bereichern zwei Rangierlokomotiven des Typs V 22 B die Fahrzeugsammlung des Historischen Lokschuppens Wittenberge. Die beiden Maschinen stammen von der Zellstoff Stendal GmbH in Arneburg.

Die V 22 B wurde vom VEB Lokomotivbau "Karl Marx" (LKM) Babelsberg für den leichten Rangierdienst auf Bahnhöfen sowie für den Einsatz auf Werk- und Anschlussbahnen entwickelt. Das Baumuster des Typs V 22 B wurde 1967 geliefert. Wenig später begann die Serienfertigung.

Die Deutsche Reichsbahn übernahm 1968 insgesamt 80 Maschinen und reihte sie als Baureihe V 23 (ab 01.06.1970: BR 102.0) in den Fahrzeugpark ein. Davon gelangten vier Loks zum Bahnbetriebswerk (Bw) Wittenberge, das die Maschinen u.a. auf der Perleberger Kreisringbahn einsetzte. Zahlreiche Maschinen des Typs V 22 B wurden auch an Betriebe in der DDR geliefert. Außerdem waren die Stangendieselloks ein Exportschlager, der Kunden u.a. in Ägypten, Bulgarien, Rumänien und Ungarn fand. Um die Einsatzmöglichkeiten der kleinen Maschinen zu erweitern, wurde 1968 eine Doppeltraktionssteuerung entwickelt, mit der auch unsere Lokomotiven ausgerüstet sind. Damit konnten zwei Loks von einem Führerstand aus betätigt werden. Mit dieser Technik wurden aber nur wenige Maschinen ausgerüstet.

Aufgrund der großen Nachfrage wurden die V 22 B auch nach der offiziellen Einstellung des Lokbaus in Babelsberg im Frühjahr 1970 weiter produziert. Erst 1976 endete mit der V 22 B der Schienenfahrzeugbau. Rund 670 Exemplare der 220 PS starken Stangendiesellok hatten die Babelsberger Werkhallen verlassen. Die beiden neuen Museumsstücke gehören zu den letzten im ehemaligen LKM gefertigten Maschinen.

Die Loks wurden fabrikneu an den VEB Kraftwerksanlagenbau Dresden für die Baustelle des geplanten Kernkraftwerkes in Niedergörne geliefert und dort mit den Betriebs-Nr. 1 (Fabrik-Nr. 0262.6.660; Abnahme am 31.05.1976) und 3 (Fabrik-Nr. 0262.6.664; Abnahme am 08.06.1976) eingesetzt. Nach der Einstellung der Bauarbeiten am Kernkraftwerk im Jahr 1990 verblieben sie in Arneburg, wo sie später von der Zellstoff Stendal GmbH (ZSG) als Loks 2 (ex Nr. 1) und 3 übernommen wurden. Die ZSG setzte die Maschinen als letzte ihres Typs planmäßig in Doppeltraktion ein. Sie schleppten zuverlässig Güterzüge vom Bf Niedergörne in das Werk. Erst nach der Beschaffung moderner Maschinen des Vossloh-Typs G 6 hatte das Gespann ausgedient. Die beiden V 22 B dienten bis zum Ablauf der Untersuchungsfristen Ende 2013 als Reserve. Das Foto zeigt die beiden Lokomotiven im Juli 2014 mit ihrer fabrikneuen Ablösung.

Die Loks befinden sich noch weitgehend in ihrem Anlieferungszustand. Sie passen sehr gut in die Sammlung, da sie zum einen eine für das Bw Wittenberge und die Region typische Diesellok-Baureihe repräsentieren und zum anderen an den Schienenfahrzeugbau im Land Brandenburg erinnern.



Bild des Monats

Dampflokfreunde Salzwedel e.V. Am Bahnhof 6, 19322 Wittenberge
Impressum  Anfahrt  Druckansicht